My name is Rhys, a first time dad blogging about my adventures and experiences of being a parent. [email protected]

David Brooks and Jess Fishlock win top prizes at the FAW Awards 2019

Pictured: David Brooks and Elise Hughes. Credit: Football Association Wales

Last night (21 March), the Football Association of Wales Awards 2019 were held at Hensol Castle in the Vale Resort.

Hosted by Gabby Logan, the event celebrated Welsh International Football, looking back on the journey of our National teams over the past 18 months.

The prestigious FAW Player of the Year Awards went to Jess Fishlock and David Brooks for their performances in the famous red shirt, as voted by members of The Red Wall.

This was Brooks’ second award of the evening. He also won Young Player of the Year, reflecting his successful transition from the U21’s into the Senior side over the past 12 months. Elise Hughes, whose performances have been pivotal at intermediate and senior level, also earned the accolade of Young Player of the Year.

The Women’s captain, Sophie Ingle and Gareth Bale both won Players’ Player of The Year, a sign of the utmost respect from their teammates.

Gareth Bale. Credit: Football Association of Wales

The Media Choice Award this year went to Ben Davies and John Toshack was handed the Special Award for his lifetime achievement in Welsh football.

The full list of FAW Award winners are detailed below:


Elise Hughes

David Brooks

FAW PLAYERS PLAYER OF THE YEAR (sponsored by Brains):

Sophie Ingle

Gareth Bale


John Toshack

MEDIA CHOICE AWARD (sponsored by Fosters):

Ben Davies

FAW PLAYER OF THE YEAR (voted by The Red Wall Members):

Jess Fishlock

David Brooks