My name is Rhys, a first time dad blogging about my adventures and experiences of being a parent. [email protected]

Shortlist revealed for Professional Teaching Awards

24 education professionals from across Wales have been revealed as finalists of the second Professional Teaching Awards Cymru.

The awards were created to celebrate the commitment, dedication and hard work of teachers across Wales. Nominations were received from parents, students, colleagues and employers.

The winners from each of the nine categories including Supporting Teachers and Learners and Best use of Digital learning will be announced at a special ceremony at Hensol Castle in May.

Education Secretary Kirsty Williams said:

“Our national mission is to raise standards, reduce the attainment gap and deliver an education system that is a source of national pride and confidence. An integral part of this is about elevating the status of the teaching profession in Wales.

“That’s why it’s so important that we recognise the excellence we see in our schools every day, right across the country.

“The calibre of nominations we had this year for the Professional Teaching Awards Cymru was absolutely phenomenal.

“The finalists are a credit to the profession. They should all be exceptionally proud of themselves and I am very much looking forward to meeting them all in May to celebrate their hard work.”

Winners will be announced on Sunday 13 May 2018.

Join the conversation with #TeachingAwardsCymru

Professional Teaching Awards Cymru finalists

[accordion title=”Supporting Teachers and Learners” load=”show”]Jackie Marshall, Queen Elizabeth High School, Carmarthen

Anne Garner, Ysgol Bryn Elian, Old Colwyn

Adam Griffiths, Penydre High School, Merthyr Tydfil[/accordion]
[accordion title=”School Business Manager/Bursar” load=”hide”]Brian Crossland, Ysgol Bryn Elian, Old Colwyn

Helen Avery, Cornist Park Primary School, Flint

Jon Caple, Bishop Hedley High School, Merthyr Tydfil[/accordion]
[accordion title=”Promoting Collaboration to Improve Learning Opportunities” load=”hide”]To be announced at the Ceremony[/accordion]
[accordion title=”Promoting wellbeing, inclusion and relationships with the community” load=”hide”]Louise Morgan, Canolfan y Gors, Carmarthen

Inclusion Department Team, St. Joseph’s Roman Catholic High School, Newport

Monkton Priory Community Primary School, Pembroke[/accordion]
[accordion title=”Teacher of the Year” load=”hide”]Carol Hesden, Ysgol Gynradd Gymraeg Caerffili, Caerphilly

Hannah Hopkins, Pontarddulais Comprehensive School

Lorraine Dalton, Ysgol Esgob Morgan, St Asaph[/accordion]
[accordion title=”Headteacher of the Year” load=”hide”]Meryl Echeverry, Monnow Primary School, Newport

Eleanor Jarrold, Maes Y Coed Primary School, Pontypridd

Janet Waldron, Pontarddulais Comprehensive School[/accordion]
[accordion title=”Outstanding New Teacher” load=”hide”]Hollie Sinclair, Caerleon Comprehensive School, Newport

Helen Jones, Flint High School

Natasha Williams, Ysgol Bryn Elian, Old Colwyn[/accordion]
[accordion title=”Best use of Digital learning” load=”hide”]Dylan Lewis, Pontarddulais Comprehensive School

Ysgol Bro Lleu, Caernarfon

Ysgol O.M Edwards, Bala[/accordion]
[accordion title=”Inspirational use of the Welsh Language” load=”hide”]Jordan Tobin, Dwr y Felin Comprehensive School, Neath

Sarah Mansfield, St Francis Catholic Primary School, Milford Haven

Gwenan Ellis Jones, Gwynedd Council Education Department[/accordion]