My name is Rhys, a first time dad blogging about my adventures and experiences of being a parent. [email protected]

The eight Welsh building projects shortlisted for national awards

Eight Welsh building projects are set to compete against entries from across the UK in the RICS Awards Grand Final.

[aoa id=”1″]The annual RICS Awards celebrate the top property projects that provide real value to the communities they serve by making them a better place to live, study, work or visit. The eight categories include Building Conservation, Residential, Commercial property and Infrastructure, and there’s an overall esteemed ‘Project of the Year’ title, awarded to the development that demonstrates outstanding best practice and an exemplary commitment to adding value to its local area.[/aoa]

1. Yr Ysgwrn, Gwynedd (Building Conservation)

2. Zip World’s Adventure Terminal, Bethesda (Commercial)

3. Old Oak Housing Co-operative, Carmarthen (Community Benefit)

4. The Active Classroom, Swansea (Design Through Innovation)

5. RNLI Llandudno Lifeboat Station, Llandudno (Infrastructure)

6. The Jennings, Porthcawl (Regeneration)

7. Leonard Charles House, Swansea (Residential)

8. St Fagans National History Museum, Cardiff (Tourism & Leisure)

The winners across the categories as well as the overall Project of the Year will be announced at a ceremony in London on November 2.

The announcement of the shortlist also marks the opening of the RICS Awards 2019, and entries can now be made to the RICS Awards 2019, Wales.

Chair of the RICS Awards, Wales judging panel, Phil Johns said:

“The properties we live in, and the buildings we visit or work and study in, can have a real impact on our wellbeing and output or productivity, and that’s what stands the RICS Awards out as they celebrate the built projects – regardless of budget or actual size – that are making a real difference to people’s lives.”

The RICS Awards 2019, Wales are now open to enter until 25 January 2018. For more information and to nominate a project visit www.rics.org/awards