My name is Rhys, a first time dad blogging about my adventures and experiences of being a parent. [email protected]

Fifteen polling stations across Powys won’t open next week and here’s why

Fifteen polling stations across Powys will not be open next week because of uncontested elections, Powys County Council has announced.

Although the council is encouraging electors to head to the polls on Thursday 5 May and use their right to vote, 15 polling stations in the county will not open because of uncontested elections.

If your polling station is one of the following, then your County and Community Councillors have been elected unopposed and you will not be voting on Thursday 5 May.

List of those that are closed:


1.    Hay-On-Wye Bowling Club


2.    Cemaes Church Room

3.    Dolfor Community Hall

4.    Glantwymyn Community Centre

5.    Llandinam Village Hall

6.    Llanfechain Memorial Hall

7.    Llangedwyn Memorial Hall

8.    Llanrhaeadr-Ym-Mochnant Public Hall

9.    Llansantffraid Community Hall

10. Llansilin Memorial Hall

11. Llidiartywaen Community Centre

12. Machynlleth The Plas – Station No 2

13. Mochdre Old C In W School

14. Newtown Methodist Church, Back Lane

15. Welshpool Town Hall