Ludlow announces squad for final Euro qualifier

Jayne Ludlow. (Pic by Kunjan Malde/FAW)

Jayne Ludlow has named a squad of 26 players for Cymru’s final UEFA Women’s EURO 2022 qualifying round match against Belarus on Tuesday, December 1.

Ludlow has called up Esther Morgan and Caitlin Morris for the first time. Both players have played in the Cymru age groups whilst Morgan, who has been training with the Tottenham Hotspur first team, captained the U19s in last year’s UEFA Women’s EURO U19 qualifying round.

A wealth of experience will be involved in the Cymru side including centurions Sophie Ingle and Jess Fishlock, as well as Natasha Harding who scored a brace in last months’ 4-0 win against the Faroe Islands. However, Anna Filbey misses out as she continues her recovery from a foot injury and Megan Wynne is also unavailable due to an ACL injury.

A win could see Cymru reach the play-off stages of a major tournament for the first time in their history. However, Northern Ireland need to drop points against Belarus on Friday 27 November for that to occur.

Cymru’s match against Belarus on Tuesday December 1 at Rodney Parade, Newport will be televised on BBC Two Wales, kick off 19:10.

The nine group winners and the three best runners-up (not counting results against the sixth-placed team) qualify directly for the final tournament, while the remaining six runners-up advance to the play-offs. The play-offs will take place during the April international window, draw date TBC.

Rhys Gregory
Editor of

Gwent man jailed after fabricating elaborate household fires

Previous article

Welsh restaurant group launches Spanish wine subscription club

Next article

You may also like

More in Football