My name is Rhys, a first time dad blogging about my adventures and experiences of being a parent. [email protected]

Pembrokeshire’s Sports Awards Nominations 2021 Announced

Pictured are the finalists in the 2019 Sport Pembrokeshire Young Volunteers of the Year category.

he waiting is over and the nominations for the 2021 Sport Pembrokeshire Awards have been revealed!

A total of 80 nominations have been received in 12 categories for individuals and teams involved in a variety of different sports across the County.

The three finalists in each category will be announced in the Western Telegraph on 17th November. The overall winners will be unveiled at the ceremony at Folly Farm on 26th November, organised by Sport Pembrokeshire.

The awards are sponsored by Valero, the Western Telegraph, Folly Farm, and Radio Pembrokeshire.

Cllr Paul Miller, Cabinet Member for Economy, Tourism, Leisure and Culture, thanked all those who had submitted a nomination and said the standard of entries was once again very high.

“We’re really pleased that so many people have taken the time to nominate individuals and teams from our sporting community to be recognised in the Sport Pembrokeshire awards,” he said.

“The awards are a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the hard work and achievements of local sportspeople, coaches and volunteers and we’re looking forward to a great evening.”

The nominations are as follows:

(some individuals/teams received more than one nomination) 

Young Volunteer of the Year

1.    Carys Ribbon & Jess Raymond

2.    Leila Egelstaff

3.    Ffion Williams (Haverfordwest Seals)

4.    Olivia Probert

5.    Adele Bevan

Club Organiser

1.    Trevor & Becki Badham and Colin Evans (Cricket)

2.    Brian Millard (Disability Sport)

3.    Sean Hannon (Cricket)

4.    Gareth Bennett (Swimming)

5.    Naomi Dalton (Boxing)

Senior Team

1.    Cresselly Ladies Cricket Team

2.    Neylabd Cricket Club 1st Team

3.    Saundersfoot Bowls Club over 55’s Fours team

Junior Team

1.    Haverfordwest Artistic Gymnastics

2.    Pembrokeshire Harriers SIAB Team

3.    St. Ishmael’s Cricket Club U11’s

4.    Haverfordwest RFC U9’s

Unsung Hero

1.    Jamie Phelps (Cricket)

2.    Lauren Watts (Tumbling)

3.    Nick Daley (Cricket)

4.    Stuart Tyrie (Ju Jitsu)

5.    Lukas Gamble (Football)

6.    Fee Shiels (Gymnastics)

7.    Richard Arthur (Cricket)

8.    Martin & Celt Edwards

9.    Jenny Harries and Kelly Griffiths (Athletics)

10. Brian Milllard (Disability Sport)

11. Gareth Bennett (Haverfordwest Seals)

12. Ian Duncan (Boxing)

13. Simon Gardiner (Rugby)

14. Sarah Keogh (Tennis)

15. Dorian Howells (Rugby)

16. Simon Morgan (Football)

Disability Sport Award

1.    Sian Jones (Boccia)

2.    Leon Davies (Cricket)

3.    Libi Phillips (Wheelchair Basketball)

4.    Michael Jenkins (Shot and Discus)

Girls U16’s

1.    Jessica Shiels (Gymnastics)

2.    Gracie Griffiths (Athletics)

3.    Josie Hawke (Surfing)

4.    Lucy Wintle (Athletics)

Boys U16’s

1.    Alistair Dyer (Hockey)

2.    Dafydd Pawlett (Shot)

3.    TJ Edwards

4.    Owen Rickard (Rugby)

5.    Joe Phillips (Cricket)

Male Achievement

1.    Euan Dyer (Hockey)

2.    Stephen Varney (Rugby)

3.    Joe Phillips (Cricket)

Female Achievement

1.    Sanna Duthie (Running)

2.    Lisa Neumann (Rugby)

3.    Valerie Coleman (Rowing)

Club of the Year

1.    Pembroke Dock Cricket Club

2.    Saundersfoot Runners

3.    Haverfordwest Gymnastics Club

4.    Pembrokeshire Triathlon Club

5.    Neyland Cricket Club

6.    Pembrokeshire Harriers

7.    Cresselly Cricket Club

8.    Fishguard & Goodwick Roiwng Club

9.    Haverfordwest Tennis Club

10. Pembroke & Pembroke Dock Boxing Club

11. Pembrokeshire Vikings

Coach of the Year

1.    Chris McEwen (Boxing)

2.    Jonathan Lewis (Cricket)

3.    Simon Morgan (Football)

4.    Ryan Thomas (Swimming)

5.    Daisy Griffiths (Gymnastics)

6.    Cresselly Cricket Junior Coaches

7.    Graham Brockway (Boxing)

8.    Andrew Jones (Gymnastics)

9.    Nadine Tyrell (H’west Gymnastics)

10. Wayne Griffiths (Harriers)

11. Lowri Jones (Dance)

12. Jane Calveley (H’west Gymnastics)

13. Finola Findlay (Dance)

14. Simon Lewis (Harriers)

15. Simon Roach (Weightlifting)

16. Simon Gardiner (Rugby)

17. Sam Feneck (Crossfit Pembrokeshire)