My name is Rhys, a first time dad blogging about my adventures and experiences of being a parent. [email protected]

The winners of the Farmers’ Union of Wales Christmas Card competition have been announced

Rhian Morgan Christmas Card winner

Annest O’Neill of Ysgol Treferthyr, Criccieth and Rhian Morgan of Ysgol Llandinam, Newtown beat off competition from hundreds of entries from across Wales in the Farmers’ Union of Wales Christmas card design competition. Their designs were chosen as the winners of the Welsh version and the English version respectively.

Now, both girls’ designs which had to include a scene from a farm will be printed and sold by the Union in aid of the DPJ Foundation which supports mental health in farming communities. The winners received Gift Cards as a prize as well as a cash prize for their schools.

Annest O’Neill

Annest, who won the Welsh version, submitted a design of a Christmas scene of farm animals receiving a gift from Santa and a special Christmas box addressed to the Union.

Rhian’s design features an agricultural  twist on a traditional nativity scene with farm animals asleep in the manger under the legend, ‘Twas the night before Christmas, when all through the farm, every animal was sleeping, it was so calm.’

Though Annest was unable to attend, Rhian travelled to the Royal Welsh Winter Fair to be awarded her prize from FUW President, Glyn Roberts.

Mr Roberts said: ”I was extremely impressed with the standard of work this year, and especially that of Annest and Rhian. There was a lot of innovative thinking and artistic talent on display and I was proud the FUW could arrange this, and for such a  worthy cause.”

Special thanks go to all the following schools who have participated:

  • Anglesey: Ysgol Gynradd Llandegfan, Menai Bridge; Ysgol y Graig, Ynys Môn
  • Brecon & Radnor: Cradoc Primary School, Brecon; Llanbister CP School, Llandrindod Wells; Ysgol Llanfair-ym-Muallt, Builth Wells
  • Caernarfon: Ysgol Brynaerau, Caernarfon; Ysgol Nefyn, Pwllheli; Ysgol Treferthyr, Criccieth, Gwynedd; Ysgol Tudweiliog, Pwllheli; Ysgol y Gorlan, Tremadog, Porthmadog; Ysgol yr Eifl, Caernarfon; Ysgol Ysbyty Ifan, Betws-y-Coed
  • Carmarthen: Ysgol Llannon, Llanelli; Ysgol Llanpumsaint, Carmarthen; Ysgol Nantgaredig, Carmarthen; Ysgol Peniel, Carmarthen
  • Ceredigion: Ysgol Bro Pedr, Lampeter; Ysgol Cenarth, Newcastle Emlyn; Ysgol Dyffryn Cledyn, Ceredigion; Ysgol Gynradd Aberteifi, Cardigan; Ysgol Gynradd Felinfach, Lampeter; Ysgol Pontrhydfendigaid, Ceredigion
  • Denbigh & Flint: Ysgol Bro Aled, Llansannan, Denbigh; Ysgol Croes Atti, Flint; Ysgol Pentrecelyn, Ruthin; Ysgol Cerrigydrudion, Conwy; Ysgol Bro Cernyw, Abergele   Pentre Church in Wales Primary School, Chirk; Ysgol Betws Gwerfil Goch, Corwen
  • Glamorgan & Gwent: Llangyfelach Primary School, Swansea; Nant Celyn Primary School, Cwmbran; Pentrebane Primary School, Cardiff; Pontrhondda Primary School, Tonypandy; Portmead Primary School, Swansea; St Patrick’s Primary School, Cardiff; Thornwell Primary School, Chepstow; Upper Rhymney Primary School, Tredegar; Cyfarthfa Park Primary, Merthyr Tydfil; Ysgol Llanedi, Swansea
  • Meirionnydd: Ysgol Bro Elwern, Corwen; Ysgol Bro Tryweryn, Gwynedd
  • Montgomeryshire: Knighton Primary School, Powys; Llandinam School, Newtown; Newbridge-on-Wye School; Rhayader Primary School; Welshpool Church in Wales School; Ysgol Cwm Banwy, Welshpool; Ysgol Dyffryn Trannon, Trefeglwys
  • Pembrokeshire: Roch Community School, Haverfordwest; Ysgol Gynradd Eglwyswrw, Pembrokeshire