My name is Rhys, a first time dad blogging about my adventures and experiences of being a parent. [email protected]

Wales finalists announced for Great British Entrepreneur Awards 2022

Founder Francesca James speaking at the 2021 GBEA Finals

Founders, innovators and entrepreneurs from across Wales have been recognised as the best in the business as the Great British Entrepreneur Awards 2022 finalists are announced.

69 Wales-based business leaders have been shortlisted out of over 5,300 entrants nationally – the most the awards has ever had.

The Great British Entrepreneur Awards, in partnership with Starling Bank, acknowledges and champions the hard work and uplifting stories of business owners across the UK, with an emphasis on their journey and resilience over financial achievements.

Twelve awards will be given out per region for categories including Disruptor of the Year, Entrepreneur for Good Award, and the Great British Entrepreneur of the Year. Notable winners from previous years include Social Chain founder Steven Bartlett, who went on to become the youngest ever investor on BBC’s Dragon’s Den.

This year’s awards will also feature a brand new award highlighting the organisations investing in the training and development of young people. The John Caudwell Blaze Your Own Trail Award looks to recognise outstanding examples of businesses offering apprenticeships, vocational training, and diversity and inclusion initiatives, all in the name of improving young people’s access to work.

The winners will be announced at a Grand Final, held at the Grosvenor Hotel in London on 21st November.

This year is the 10th anniversary of the Great British Entrepreneur Awards. The alumni has collectively generated over £30 billion in revenue and employed more than 450,000 people.

To mark the milestone year for the programme, entrants will have the chance to win over £30,000 worth of marketing support and a tree will be planted for every application submitted with the support of Ecologi.

Founder of the Great British Entrepreneur Awards, Francesca James, said the quality of this year’s entrants exemplified the strength of entrepreneurship in Wales: “The quality coming from Wales is consistently excellent year on year, but we have been especially blown away by the innovation, drive and determination demonstrated in the applications this year. Shortlisting from so many inspiring contenders has been more challenging than ever, with many deserving cases put forward and an ever-growing business community thriving across the region.

“From the pandemic to the ongoing cost of living crisis, business owners haven’t had it easy over the past few years, but it’s a testament to the tenacity and perseverance of these entrepreneurs that they have continued on their path and refused to give in.

“This year’s Welsh finalists should be so proud of what they’ve already achieved both in business and in being shortlisted for an award – we’re looking forward to seeing everyone at the Finals and unveiling the winners!”

Anne Boden MBE, Founder of Starling Bank, headline partner of the Awards, said: “Congratulations to all those businesses who have made the shortlist. It’s great to see the passion, resilience and amazing ingenuity from entrepreneurs across so many categories.”

To book your place at the Grand Final in London on 21st November, you can go to greatbritishentrepreneurawards.com

The Wales 2022 Finalists are:

Creative Entrepreneur of the Year 

  • Adventure Visuals – Steven Bollschweiler
  • Cardiff International Film Festival – Rahil Abbas
  • craftcourses – Kate Dewmartin
  • Do Digital Agency – Darren Crockett
  • Esports Wales – John Jackson
  • Glosters – Myfanwy & Tom Gloster

Disruptor of the Year powered by Vodafone Business

  • Consumer Insights Lab – Abbie Lawrence
  • de Novo Solutions – Mark Sweeny
  • GS Verde Group – Nigel Greenaway
  • Sanctuary Financial Planning – Gareth Shears & Shane Hyland
  • See No Bounds – Charlott & Jamie McAnsh
  • SwatchEditor – Roseanna Jiggins

Entrepreneur for Good Award

  • Anglesey Sea Zoo & Marine Resource Centre – Frankie Hobro
  • Enbarr Foundation CIC – Vicki Roskams
  • LABRATS CIC – Alan Owen
  • Mums/Moms In Business International – Leona Burton
  • One Million Steps – Ranjit Ghoshal
  • The HOW People – Jo Watkins, Polly Crook

Family Business Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Millin Brook Luxury Dog Boarding – Sian Smith
  • Moose & Co – Jonathan & Craig Baker
  • Out of Sync – Megan Lewis, Katie Lewis & Jackie Lewis
  • See No Bounds – Charlott & Jamie McAnsh
  • Tiafi Jewellery – Emma-Kate Francis & Dylan James
  • YourNorth – Kelly & Jamie Farr

Food & Drink Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Cora – Lee Skeet
  • Cuffed-in Coffee – Kristian Cuffin
  • Lobster & Môr – Danny Curtis
  • Roadhouse Whitland – Jonathan Davies
  • SO Coffee – Scott Otten
  • The Fungtional Brew Company – Zoey Henderson

Health & Beauty Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Anaphase Store – Carly Thompsett
  • Elysian Coaching – Sian Golding
  • House of Curls UK – Claire Pledger
  • KCM Fitness – Katie Clement McCreesh
  • THE BRONZING BAR – Catherine Griffin
  • Wild Beauty – Robert Newborough

Scale-Up Entrepreneur of the Year powered by Salesforce

  • KC Accountancy Services – Kim Cleminson-Jones
  • GS Verde Group – Nigel Greenaway
  • Net World Sports – Alex Lovén

Service Industries Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Adventure Tours UK – Claire Copeman
  • Alliance Marketing Agency – Gareth Waters
  • Candour Talent  – Matthew Burkitt
  • Inspired Business Media – Jason Awatar & Leigh Hussain
  • Odyssey – Dominic Bonaker, Josh Richards, Craig Williams, Jack Williams & Cinzia Appetecchia
  • Seriously Stylish Business – Nicola Wilkes

Small Business Entrepreneur of the Year powered by Aston Lark

  • de Novo Solutions – Mark Sweeny
  • Fine Rolling Media – Kris Kane
  • LCVA Services – Lora Payne
  • Limb-art – Mark Williams
  • Ready Made Stores – Anthony Phillips
  • Web Marketer – Louis Halton Davies

Start-Up Entrepreneur of the Year powered by Mail Metro Mail Ad Manager

  • 2B Enterprising – Jayne Brewer, Sue Poole & Mark Hindmarsh
  • Configur – Marco Oliver & Josh Evans
  • Cynefn – Laura Hickman Sell
  • LimestoneGrey – Matthew Jones
  • The Boho Parasol Hut – Rachel Meredith
  • The Fungtional Brew Company – Zoey Henderson

Sustainability Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Equal=ibrium – Angela Moreton
  • Fleet-e – Jarrad Morris
  • Green Sea Guard – Anita Bradshaw & Henrik Blicher Hansen
  • HUNA – Ffion Boyesen & Bella Mossman
  • iConsult Technical – Samantha Davies
  • Onesta – Gabriella Diana

Young Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Aura Ads – Ryan Walton
  • Bahaar Kitchen UK – Fozan Ghalib & Meh Jabeen Moghal
  • Clothing View – Evan Sellick
  • COBRA Music Studios – Jordan Day-Williams
  • Maid To Help Commercial Cleaning Specialists – Samantha Howells
  • WCS Agency – Chelsea O’Driscoll