My name is Rhys, a first time dad blogging about my adventures and experiences of being a parent. [email protected]

Welsh talent and international stars converge at the 2024 Ogi Porthcawl 10K

Dewi Griffiths (28:20), Josh Griffiths (28:41) and Clara Evans (31:57) will head the local contingent at the OGI Porthcawl 10k. Omar Ahmed (28:27), 2023 winner Kadar Omar (28:27), Seyfu Jamaal (29:04) and Louise Small (33:20) will also be in action.

The popular South Wales seaside town will host the fourth edition of the race on Sunday, with the race incorporating the third fixture in the 2024 R4W 10K Series. It uses a quirky course that takes in views along the sweeping coastline and a section through the Coney Beach Fairground.

The three main protagonists in the men’s race have claimed the top three places at both the ABP Newport 10K and the Brecon Carreg Cardiff Bay 10K, led home by Ahmed, followed by Omar and with Griffiths in third. The gap has been closing however and the Welshman has also recently reset his lifetime best at the Great Manchester Run, as the Swansea man returns to full fitness.

Former UK Marathon Champion Josh Griffiths (28:41) is the course record holder in Porthcawl with a mark of 29:55 set at the inaugural edition in 2019 and warmed up for this race with victory over 5K in Cardiff in late June.

Seyfu Jamaal (29:04) is a consistent racer, recently running 64:34 for Half Marathon in Walton-On-Thames and 10K in 29:14 in Manchester.

Commonwealth Games sixth placer Jonathan Hopkins (29:01), Bristol & West AC pairing Kurt Taylor (29:20) and Jack Millar (29:36) and 2022 winner James Hunt (29:43) add further quality.

Clara Evans will be an outstanding favourite for the women’s race as the second Welsh woman to dip under 32 minutes with a mark of 31:57, finishing third at the Trafford 10K in March. Evans also reset her Half Marathon PB to 70:06 whilst on international duty at the European Championships in Rome this June.

The Pontypridd Roadent is the current Welsh 5K Champion and a former winner of the Brecon Carreg Cardiff Bay 10k, also finishing as the runner-up here 12 months ago.

Aldershot Farnham & District clubmates Louise Small (33:20) and Kate Estlea-Morris (33:38) are next fastest and along with Evans will be eyeing victory, and perhaps Lily Partridge’s course record of 33:26 set last year. Small is a previous winner of the Eastleigh 10K and a former English National Cross Country Champion.

Cardiff 10K Champion Alaw Evans (34:48) is always competitive and was third at the series opener in Newport in April.

Nia Clatworthy will be an interesting debutant following a 15:59 clocking over 5,000m in California whilst in action for Lamar University.