My name is Rhys, a first time dad blogging about my adventures and experiences of being a parent. [email protected]

New Chair of Powys County Council appointed

A county councillor from Presteigne has been appointed the new Chair of Powys County Council.

Cllr Beverley Baynham, who represents the Presteigne ward, was elected chair at the council’s annual general meeting on Thursday, May 18, succeeding Cllr Gareth Ratcliffe, local member for Hay-on-Wye.

Cllr Baynham, who was elected as a county councillor for the Presteigne ward in 2017, held the position of Chair of Powys County Council during 2019/2020.

Elected Vice-Chair of the council at the same meeting was Cllr Jonathan Wilkinson, local member for Llangyniew and Meifod, and Cllr William Powell, local member for Talgarth, was elected Assistant Vice-Chair.