My name is Rhys, a first time dad blogging about my adventures and experiences of being a parent. [email protected]

Wales Transport Awards finalists revealed

The finalists for the 2019 Wales Transport Awards that represent the best of the Welsh transport sector have been revealed.

[aoa id=”1″]

The Wales Transport Awards was launched to celebrate the outstanding achievements of those in the Welsh transport industry and recognises the significant contribution made by the transport sector to the Welsh economy.

The inaugural awards will take place on Friday 1st November at the Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel, where over 40 finalists will compete for awards in 11 categories including; Fleet of the Year, Transport Operator of the Year and Apprentice of the Year.


Liz Brookes, Founder of the Awards and Director of Grapevine Event Management says:

We have been blown away by the amazing response we have had for the inaugural year of the awards. There were some difficult decisions to make during the shortlisting process, however the awards night is shaping up to be a great celebration of the hard work that goes into the Welsh transport industry.”

A number of organisations have already sponsored the awards including The Caldicot Group, Petronas Lubricants International, Glenside Commercials, Plant-I and Bluegg.

Gavin Edwards, Managing Director at The Caldicot Group said:

Working within the sector supporting companies with their vehicle recovery needs, we know first-hand the tremendous contributions all those who entered make that are pivotal to the success of so many other businesses, which made the shortlisting process that much harder.”

Denise Lovering, Head Judge and Former Chair of the Welsh Freight Council, added:

The transport sector in Wales is often overlooked and the work done by logistics as a whole is seriously under rated. It was a pleasure to read so many high-quality applications and to see so many organisations enter, putting themselves forward for the recognition they deserve.”

The shortlist is as follows:

Apprentice of the Year:

  • Ben Jones – Freight Logistic Solutions
  • Demi Woodham – Transport for Wales Rail Service
  • Katie Ratcliffe – Transport for Wales Rail Service

Customer Care Award:

  • Bysiau Cwm Taf Valley Coaches Ltd
  • Euro Commercials (SW) Ltd
  • LINC
  • Waldron Commercials

Driver of the Year:

  • Wayne Dury – Euro Commercials (SW) Ltd
  • Eve Carter – Ffrindau Cerrig Friends
  • Keith Thomas – First Cymru

Excellence in Technology and Innovation Award:

  • Castell Howell
  • Plant I Ltd
  • Traveline Cymru
  • Veezu
  • VehoGroup Ltd

Fleet of the Year:

  • Alun Griffiths (Contractors)
  • Castell Howell
  • Davies Logistics Ltd

Haulier of the Year:

  • A T Morgan and Son
  • Davies Logistics Ltd
  • Edge Transport Ltd
  • Owens Group

Livery of the Year:

  • Derw Glass
  • Edwards Coaches
  • Ferryman Ltd

Services to the Transport Industry Award:

  • Community Transport Association
  • Freight Logistic Solutions
  • PTI Cymru
  • Accessible Caring Transport

Transport Operator of the Year:

  • Cymru Coaches
  • Edwards Coaches
  • Owens Group
  • Williams Coaches, Brecon

Transport Team of the Year:

  • Alun Griffiths (Contractors)
  • Days Rental
  • Edge Transport Ltd
  • First Cymru
  • LINC

Women in Transport:

  • Christine Boston – Community Transport Association
  • Jo Foxall – PTI Cymru
  • Rose Williams – Williams Coaches, Brecon