My name is Rhys, a first time dad blogging about my adventures and experiences of being a parent. [email protected]

Finalists announced for IoD Wales’ Director of the Year Awards

ICC Wales

IoD Wales has revealed the finalists for its Director of the Year Awards, with a shortlist featuring leaders representing a wide spectrum of organisations and sectors across Wales.

Winners of the prestigious awards, in partnership with Cardiff Business School, will be announced during a ceremony at ICC Wales, Newport on 14 January.

Richard Selby, Chair, IoD Wales said: “We always look forward to the Director of the Year Awards and the opportunity to recognise and celebrate leaders across all industries and sectors in Wales.

“As we look ahead to post-pandemic economic recovery, it’s wonderful to see so many high-calibre finalists named on the shortlist. The judging panel thoroughly enjoyed reading about the successful contribution businesses are making and how they are positively impacting Wales’ growth and development.

“Huge congratulations go to all those who have made the shortlist and best wishes to everyone for the final.”

This year’s finalists are:

Young Director of the Year – sponsored by Sony Technology Centre
Shayoni Lynn – Lynn PR
John Hannah – Centregreat Rail Ltd
Helen King – Praesidio Safeguarding
Phoebe Brown – Repair Café Wales
Katy Penny – Biocatalysts Ltd

Director of the Year – Non Exec – sponsored by Acorn Executive Search
Dr Chris Martin – Port of Milford Haven
Kevin Bounds – Snowdrop Independent Living Ltd
Rhian Watcyn Jones – Social Care Wales
Paul Croke – Bridgend College
Jessica Leigh Jones MBE – Centre for Digital Public Services
Director of the Year – Family – sponsored by Tantrwm
Ann Anglesea – Delmar World 
David Gray – TB Davies (Cardiff) Ltd
Rhys Mallows – Mallows Bottling Ltd
Director of the Year – Skills Development – sponsored by Educ8
Charlotte Hale – Sevenoaks Modular Ltd
Lindsay Evans – Sgiliau Cyf 
Rachel Searle – Gower College Swansea
Director of the Year – Start-Up Business – sponsored by Darwin Gray
Emma Hill – The British Bird of Prey Centre
Philippe Mele – My Procurement
Jay Sheppard – Kudos Fundraising

Director of the Year – Equality, Diversion & Inclusion – sponsored by Legal & General
Ruth Coombs – Equality & Human Rights Commission
Wasem Said – Tigerbay Security
Bushra Ali – Bushra Ali Solicitors

Director of the Year – Public/Third Sector – sponsored by Venture Graduates
Richard Williams – Community Foundation Wales
Helen Hughes – Stephens & George Centenary Charitable Trust
Russell Greenslade – Swansea BID
Kay Denyer – Race Council Cymru
Maria Timon Samra – Tŷ Hafan
Dr Rhodri Llwyd Morgan – Mudiad Meithrin

Director of the Year – Corporate Responsibility – sponsored by Welsh Government
Scott Davies – Hilltop Honey
Joanna Swash – Moneypenny
David Morgan – Snowdrop Independent Living Ltd
Bushra Ali – Bushra Ali Solicitors
Leigh Hughes – Bouygues UK

Director of the Year – Innovation – sponsored by ACCA Wales
Rhian Hayward MBE – Aberinnovation Ltd
Gareth Lewis – Delio
Shayoni Lynn – Lynn PR
Robert Kissick – 2buy2
Martin Baker – The Safeguarding Co Ltd
Director of the Year – SME up to £15m – sponsored by Development Bank of Wales
Dean Thomas – Caerphilly Funeral Services Ltd
Craig Palfrey – Penguin Wealth Planners Ltd
Julie Grabham – JG HR Solutions Ltd
Kristian Cuffin – Cuffed-in Coffee Ltd
Bushra Ali – Bushra Ali Solicitors
Nigel Greenway – GS Verde Group

Professor Rachel Ashworth, Dean of Cardiff Business School, said: “We’re so proud to sponsor this annual celebration of excellence in Welsh business leadership.

“This year, more than ever, we have been inspired by the innovation, creativity and ambition of Directors and look forward to the upcoming awards ceremony where their achievements will be recognised.

“Businesses of all kinds have continued to operate under the most challenging of circumstances. Despite these challenges, their leaders have remained focused on supporting their businesses to make significant societal and economic contributions to Wales and the world. A mission that we very much share as the Public Value Business School.”