My name is Rhys, a first time dad blogging about my adventures and experiences of being a parent. [email protected]

In pictures: IoD Wales Director of the Year Awards 2019

Leading Directors within two key Welsh Tech companies were among 13 exemplary Welsh Directors acknowledged at this afternoon’s IoD Wales’ Director of the Year Awards 2019, which were attended by The Rt Hon Liam Fox MP, Trade Secretary Liam Fox and  The Rt Hon Alun Cairns MP, Secretary of State for Wales.

[aoa id=”1″]Steve Dalton OBE of Sony Tech Centre was named IOD Wales Chair Jean Church’s Director of the Year while James Rudolf, Chief Operating Officer at TrakCel was acknowledged for his impact in terms of international business, an award which wasn’t open to entry and was announced on the day.[/aoa]

Both Liam Fox Dr. Liam FoxSecretary of State for International Trade & President of the Board of Trade and Secretary of State for Wales Alun Cairns attended the prestigious awards at Cardiff’s Sophia Gardens and recognised the success of inspiring and pioneering business leaders in Wales.

Dr Fox encouraged attendees to be optimistic about the future of Welsh businesses because of their underlying strengths and contribution to Wales’ bright trading future.

The awards, now in their ninth year, have become an established highlight on the Welsh business calendar and celebrate business achievements and inspirational leaders across Wales while bringing all sectors of the business community together, irrespective of size, geography and longevity.

Robert Lloyd Griffiths, Director IoD Wales said:

“I am delighted that The Secretaries of State for International Trade and for Wales were able to us at our awards celebration. Businesses across Wales are making huge efforts to contribute to the economy and our members continue to make a positive impact in Wales, the UK and on the global stage. The Institute of Directors (IoD) Wales Awards recognise the very best talent and achievements of Directors and we are confident that great Directors mean great businesses which ultimately means a better economy.

“Sincere thanks to all those who entered and sponsored this afternoon’s awards which were a celebration of exemplary leadership, which was showcased here to an incredible extent.”

IoD Wales Director of the Year – Winners


  • Catrin Jones – Crwst

Family Business

  • Rayner Davies – A&R Contract Cleaning, Swansea

SME Business

  • Jeffrey Pugh – Pugh Computers, Penarth

Public / Third Sector

  • Angela Hughes – Welsh Air Ambulance Charitable Trust, Cardiff


  • Lesley Cowley – Chair, DVLA

Young Director

  • Jo Foxall – PTI Cymru Ltd


  • James Rudolf – Chief Operating Officer, TrakCel


  • Geraint Lewis – Call of the Wild Ltd


  • Karl Morris – Bravura Foods


  • Lynne Sheehy – Legal & General

Judges’ Special Award

  • James Crawford – Johnsey Estates UK Ltd

Director’s Award

  • Raj Aggarwal OBE DL

Chair’s Award

  • Steve Dalton OBE – Sony Tech Centre


*Photography credit: Huw John Pics, Cardiff