My name is Rhys, a first time dad blogging about my adventures and experiences of being a parent. [email protected]

New Mayor of Caerphilly County Borough Council announced

Cllr Mike Adams

he new Mayor of Caerphilly County Borough Council is Cllr Mike Adams.

Mike, who represents the Pontllanfraith ward, accepted the position of civic head at the Annual General Meeting of Council last week (Thursday 11th May).

Cllr Adams said, “It’s an honour and a privilege to be selected to serve the council and the county borough as Mayor for the forthcoming year. I’m looking forward to embracing the role and meeting as many people as possible across all our communities.”

The Deputy Mayor is Cllr Julian Simmonds, who represents the Crosskeys ward.

A decision was also taken at the AGM to reduce the size of the council’s Cabinet. The Cabinet consists of senior councillors who each have responsibility for a defined service area portfolio.

The Cabinet previously consisted of ten members, but this has been reduced to nine following Cllr Julian Simmonds’ decision to step down recently. Fellow Cabinet Member Cllr Nigel George will take over the responsibilities of his portfolio in future.

Leader of Council, Cllr Sean Morgan said, “I have agreed to reduce the size of the Cabinet to help deliver savings and make the structure more streamlined. This reflects a similar decision taken at the AGM to reduce the number of Scrutiny Committees in order to make our decision-making process more efficient, inclusive and productive.”

The revised Cabinet structure is as follows:

Councillor Sean Morgan
Leader of Council
Councillor Jamie Pritchard
Deputy Leader &Cabinet Member for Prosperity, Regeneration and Climate Change
Councillor Nigel George
Cabinet Member for Corporate Services, Property & Highways
Councillor Eluned Stenner
Cabinet Member for Finance and Performance
Councillor Carol Andrews
Cabinet Member for Education and Communities
Councillor Shayne Cook
Cabinet Member for Housing
Councillor Philippa Leonard
Cabinet Member for Planning and Public Protection
Councillor Chris Morgan
Cabinet Member for Waste, Leisure and Green Spaces
Councillor Elaine Forehead
Cabinet Member for Social Care